Friday, November 26, 2010

What are the Five Pillars of Islam?

Christianity speaks of a foundation for our beliefs - Jesus Christ!  
                                                                                                   Islam has pillars.  

Pillars, of course, hold up the roof of a building.  The pillars of Islam are then viewed as holding up the Islamic faith.  Following these pillars are essential to all Muslims.  Salvation comes through observing these pillars, yet, there is no guarantee to any Muslim that he or she has followed these well enough, as well as having other good works in their lives, enough to warrant salvation from Allah!  

The Five Pillars of Islam

  1. Creed - The creed of Islam is "There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is his messenger."  When this single sentence is spoken in faith it makes a person a Muslim.
  2. Prayer - Muslims must pray five times a day facing Mecca.
  3. Charity to the Poor - Muslims must give a percentage of their income to the poor.  Generally, this is 2.5%. 
  4. Fasting during Ramadan - Muslims must fast from food and water every day of the ninth month of the Muslim calendar.  This fast is known as Ramadan.   When the sun goes down, they can eat and drink. 
  5. Pilgrimage to Mecca - This pilgrimage is called Hajj.  Muslims must travel to Mecca once in their lifetime if they have the financial means to do so.  Once in Mecca, there is is a series of numerous acts that must be performed, but the central task involves worship in the Kabbah. 
I'll follow this blog post with some ideas for connecting these pillars to the Gospel of Christ!  I'll share how Christians can begin with these pillars and present the Christian faith to a Muslim.  

1 comment:

  1. This is my most popular post for some reason. I'm not sure how or why it's getting the most views, but I'd also like to be sure that the follow up to this post is also being viewed. It can be seen at